August To-Be-Read

Reading List for August

North Korea: Undercover by John Sweeny
The Translation of Love by Lynne Kutsukake
Das geheime Vermächtnis des Pan by Sandra Regnier
Electra and other Plays by Sophocles
Top 10 Tokyo by DK Eyewitness Travel
Japan by Lonely Planet

Initial thoughts

Four of these are from the library, two of which are in preparation for my Japan trip in September. I know I can do a lot of research online, but sometimes it’s still nice to flick through a book. These also come with pull out maps, and I always enjoy looking at pull out maps.

I’ve already started reading The Translation of Love by Lynne Kutsukake, and so far I’m loving it a lot. I’m really enjoying the way it is written, and can’t wait to finish it. This is the first book I hope to finish really.

I also started reading Das geheime Vermächtnis des Pan by Sandra Regnier. I remember buying this years ago, and constantly trying to pick it up and read it, and every time I do pick it up to read it, I remember why I struggle to get into it. Naturally, it’s not aimed at my age group, but that usually doesn’t stop me from enjoying a book. The reason I picked this up, was because of elves and that kind of fantasy kind of theme. Even with the simple writing, I’d enjoy this book, and could be at least entertained by it. However, the main character never lets you forget how hot this one guy is, ever. Even when advertising the other two books in the series, there is this constant reminder that this guy is the hottest guy in London. It feels like Felicity reminds you of this every other sentence, just to reach a certain word count, and it just gets really boring.

Photo of the Day

New York City
Joerg Schubert

Video of the Day

Leave a Reply

