Back into Reading & Book Reviews

Now, post holiday and post house move, I’m finally getting back into reading I’m finishing off some lose ends by finishing two books I started on holiday. Surprisingly, I had problems reading a lot while on holiday, without any clear reason really.

Books I have read

WeWe by Yevgeny Zamyatin

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I read this on my kindle and was immediately fascinated by the storyline. But the book didn’t captivate me at any point and struggled to keep up the momentum somewhat. I was interested by what would happen. At the same time, I wasn’t surprised by how it turned out.

I read this on holiday and I feel a bit off having had this as my holiday read. In hindsight I’m regretting having this as my holiday read, despite being glad that I read it.

Midnight MonologuesMidnight Monologues by Charissa Ong Ty

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I thoroughly enjoyed her poems and short stories. Many of the poems I found very relatable and spoke to me on a very personal level. At times, I even teared up. I picked this up on my way back home from holiday at an Airport, and I am so glad that I did.

So many of the poems, if not all of them, made me think a lot about myself. There’s some really deep stuff and it amazed me several times as to how deep some of the poetry actually was.

IntrusionIntrusion by Ken MacLeod

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I really wanted to like this book, but alas. The female characters are flat and boring as heck. The whole novel could easily be summarised into one paragraph. Not even half way through the book I disliked all of the female characters. Personally I think that a cis man writing a book with a pregnant woman and this “fix” explains why the female characters are so boring and not even vaguely stereotypical.

I just feel really frustrated and somewhat disappointed by this book.

View all my reviews

Photo of the Day

City Pride
John Herbert

Video of the Day

Leave a Reply

