Reflection & Preparation

Reflection on the past week

Getting into the habit of making the most of my time, I take the end of the week to reflect and prepare for the following week.

In the past week, I finished my dissertation and handed it in. After that, I spent far too many days taking care of myself, instead of working on my last essay. This is leaving me with a lot of work for the following week.

Generally, the week has had some ups and downs emotion wise. During my group therapy, I kept disassociating. I haven’t disassociated for a while.

Preparation for the following week

For the following days, I have found quite a bit of reading for my last essay. After group therapy on Wednesday, I have a friend coming to my place, which I am looking forward to. This means I have to tidy up my room as well. Both are good things, even though I am not looking forward to cleaning.

By Thursday evening, I hope to have finished my last essay. Hopefully, I can push myself to leave my room more frequently to enjoy the nice weather and be physically active beyond walking dogs. I miss sitting by the sea. Over the next weekend, I’m going to try to get to the beach and enjoy the sea.

Poem of the day

Love After Love

By Derek Walcott

The time will come
when, with elation,
you will greet yourself arriving
at your own door, in your own mirror,
and each will smile at the other’s welcome,

And say, sit here. Eat.
You will love again the stranger who was yourself.
Give wine. Give bread. Give back your heart
to itself, to the stranger who has loved you

all your life, whom you ignored
for another, who knows you by heart.
Take down the love letters from the bookshelf,

the photographs, the desperate notes,
peel your own image from the mirror.
Sit. Feast on your life.

Source: https://www.familyfriendpoems.com/poem/love-after-love-by-derek-walcott

Photo of the day

Soft Sunset Rocks
Andrew Morse
Night food market, Taipei
Reinier Snijders


Video of the week

Leave a Reply

