Chill Friday + Book Reviews

I think I have managed to drag myself out of a reading slump for now. In the next few days, I will probably binge read a bunch of books, and then fall back into a slump again, no matter what. To celebrate this brief period of reading again, I may have written a few lines on the books I have finished. I’m no good at writing reviews, nor am I very good at writing anything to be honest. If I don’t practice, however, nothing will change.

I honestly struggled for so long to finish any of these, even the poetry books. So I am so glad I finally finished reading these.

I decided not to go to the cinema today, purely because of the logistics of leaving the dogs home alone. I’m thinking about going tomorrow, but I’m worrying about the dogs again. Hence, I may change my mind tomorrow and just go another day. Perhaps tuesday.

Book Reviews

Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #2)Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

At first, I really struggled to get into this. It felt like it had a really slow start, unless it was just personal stuff that held me back from reading in general.

But I did quite enjoy reading this, and I’m still really glad I picked up this series. I only wanted to read it, after seeing the movie and noticing massive loop holes (then overhearing somebody saying they tried squeezing three books into one movie -and, quite frankly, failed). Before the movie, I had seen the books, but never seemed very interested. Now, I can’t wait to read the last book, to see how the characters get on. I know I’m way above the age it is aimed at, but I do enjoy the characters, and the story line quite a bit. A very enjoyable read.

The Narrow Road to the Deep North and Other Travel SketchesThe Narrow Road to the Deep North and Other Travel Sketches by Bashō Matsuo

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this, and the haiku. This really helped me focus on small details in life, that I don’t have to wait for something grand to happen, but that I can simply enjoy the simple things in life. View all my reviews

The Poems of Phillis Wheatley: With Letters and a MemoirThe Poems of Phillis Wheatley: With Letters and a Memoir by Phillis Wheatley

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

To be fair, I every other poem at some point. I picked this poetry book, to have some diversity in what I read, the same reason as to why I read The Narrow Road to the Deep North and Other Travel Sketches by Bashō Matsuo. As expected, this gave me a new and different insight to poetry, a different kind of style and topic area to find something to write about. Similar to Matsuo, Wheatley writes about events I had not really considered writing about.

Catching the CascadeCatching the Cascade by Paul Lyalls

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I love Lyalls’ poetry heck of a lot. It’s very relatable to me, entertaining in a way and I just really loved reading the poems. They’re the kind of poetry I aim to write, and a lovely contrast to the poetry I have read earlier today.

Reading this, after reading the other poetry books, has been a lovely conclusion to my poetry readings for today. It was also very short, similar to the poems themselves, which was really quite nice. The style is very different, and so are the topics. So it was a very delightful change to the previous stuff I have read today. I’m starting to repeat myself now, oops!

Anyway, I think I picked this up at University, at a free book sharing kind of thing hoping to read more poetry. So far, finally, I have succeed in achieving that goal of 2017. It’s only been three poetry books so far, but it’s only April. Furthermore, its three more poetry books than before!

View all my reviews

Poem of the day: First Winter without my father

Each and every week and day
of the winter,
me and my mother knew you were gone
because each and every
hour and minute
of that winter,
we had the central heating full on
– by Paul Lyalls

Photos of the day

Spring in the Woods
C D
Tokyo 4212
Tokyoform
Wind Direction | Kaunas Aerial
Andrius
東京 - 汐留
Andre

Videos of the day

Leave a Reply

