Berry Book Tuesday

Berry Book Day

Went to Brighton today, and visited the Pier again. I enjoy visiting the pier and being by the sea. It is very calming and a nice feeling, especially with the sun around. I treated myself to To The Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf. I was looking for Intrusion by Ken Macleod, but I couldn’t find it in Waterstones. Instead, I was drawn to a Yann Martel book which I found, and was initially drawn to. I was also drawn to by a poetry collection by Goethe. But, at the last-minute I decided against Ghoete and Martel. This sounds really cheesy, but I literally was drawn towards this book because of the cover, read the blurb and was suspicious, in a positive way. I look forward to reading this. I am struggeling hugely to read outside of what I have to read for my dissertation. I don’t want to wait until I am finished with University, because I know I will slip further in a hole -that kind of hole you slip into once all your exams, essays and deadlines are done and it is summer. I usually suddenly find myself with nothing really to do, nothing to focus on and nothing to panic over and all that is left is a void. The chances of me reading then are even less. But I really want to.

Am I being lazy, or is it my depression? Am I the only one like this? I don’t know. I really don’t know. It definitely feels like I am just being super lazy and that I am alone with this.

Word of the day

to mesmerize

verb: mesmerize; 3rd person present: mesmerizes; past tense: mesmerized; past participle: mesmerized; gerund or present participle: mesmerizing; verb: mesmerise; 3rd person present: mesmerises; past tense: mesmerised; past participle: mesmerised; gerund or present participle: mesmerising
  1. capture the complete attention of (someone); transfix.
    “they were mesmerized by his story”
    • archaic
      hypnotize (someone).
      “he was mesmerized when at the point of death”

Poems of the day

Hello

“Hello,” I say
on some random day
months ago, I can’t remember when.
I felt young again, like I was ten.
But that feeling did not last at all
The happiness began to sink, began to fall.
I wonder why, am I that difficult.

“Good bye,” I think
and let my heart sink.
It is officially over, forever.
Will we ever again see each other? Probably never
That’s a good thing,
I feel so much lighter, like I could sing.
Or is that my anti depressant finally kicking in

-Ciarán Jefferson

Love and Admiration

Replace “love” with “admire” and
write it in sand.

Memories last longer
and make me stronger.

But the writing is now gone
And so is my love for you.

– Ciarán Jefferson

Photos of the day

forbidden communication
michael marsh
Spring
C D
Untitled
Masashi Wakui

Videos of the day

Leave a Reply

