End of 2016 stuff

This is mostly bookish stuff. But there is some general stuff at the bottom.

Bookish things

I have not read as much as I had planned, and I hope to read a lot in the new year. This is something that happens every year, but I have stopped beating myself up about it. At the beginning of 2016, I took a deep breath and realised that I will just read as I want. I promised myself to just read for enjoyment and, as soon as this enjoyment goes, that I should take a step back and take a break.

Personally my favourite book this year has probably been Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. I love her writing, the story she tells through the characters, the characters are very intriguing and I cannot wait to read the rest of the series. Everything just fits together very well, and I am so glad I finally got into this series.

The tale of the Body Thief by Anne Rice is also one of my favourite books this year. In general, I love her writing. I do find it quite tiring to get through all of the nitty gritty. At the same time, I do enjoy the pictures she paints with her words.

I haven’t really done a very good job at keeping track of the books I have read this year, as much as I meant to do so. I have started a few books over summer (and recently), that I still need to finish.
One of these three books is Assassins Creed (AC): Forsaken by Oliver Bowden. Nothing like the games, as expected, but they are a very, very easy read. I fall back onto books like these, if not Harry Potter, if I am in a reading slump. For some reason, I started this book recently, but then got distracted by another book and finished that instead. Now I got caught up with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs instead, so the AC book will have to wait until 2017.
The second one is Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare. This is purely taking so long because of it’s thickness to be honest. I am not a huge fan of Cassandra Clare herself, but I did enjoy The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices a lot and felt somewhat obliged to try out this series as well. I don’t feel like I have favourite characters in this series yet, so I am finding it a bit difficult to really get into the series. I do hope that this will change the more I read. The plot is the main reason I want to carry on reading it. While we’re talking about Cassandra Clare, I still want to read The Bane Chronicles. Magnus Bane is one of my favourite characters so I really do not know why it is taking me so long to read this.

In the next year, I really want to read Stranger in a strange land by Robert A. Henlein and the books I got for christmas. These include Broken Crowns by Lauren Destefano, Captive Prince by C.S. Pascat and Fantastic Beasts: The Original Screenplay by JK Rowling. If I don’t read anything else, but these books (apart from academic reading), I will do well.

I still have to finish Harry Potter and the cursed child by J.K. Rowling. Before I got this book, I would’ve said, that this would be my favourite book, but the fact that I still have to finish it, is clearly a sign that it is not.

Bookish Videos of the day

Non-bookish End of the Year things

I don’t really know how I feel about the past year. I’ve definitely had some ups, but also a lot of downs. The most important thing I think I learnt in the past year is to take things into my own hands, to take control and not to wait around for great things to happen. I think I have grown quite a bit personality wise. Because 2016 has been a so-so kind of year, with more downs than ups, I really want to change my attitude in 2017 and really do some more memorable things, and live more.

To achieve some of my goals, which is to live more (I know it’s really broad but I know what I mean haha), I am going to take some steps away from social media, and Netflix and Amazon Prime and technology in general.

As always, this NYE I spend in my room. Alone, in my room, with family at home. Nevertheless, NYE has become something that isn’t memorable, or special. I hope to Hera that 2017 will be nothing like today. Dull and boring, not at all special. Hopefully, I will not be lonely, and have more memories to cherish and hold dear this time next year. I guess I can add that to my goals: be more open minded, get out there more, spend less on materialistic things, create more memories. The important stuff, because those are the things that really matter in life. The things that last longer than materialistic things. The things that actually put me in a better place, mentally.

Question of today: Top three favourite Movies you have seen this year?

I cant really pick one specific one, or three specific ones, because I can’t actually remember all of them. The ones I remember most  clearly are the ones I enjoyed most. I have enjoyed a lot of movies this year.

The ones that have done more than just entertain me are:

  1. Room
  2. The Danish Girl
  3. Star Trek: Beyond & Rogue one: A Star Wars Story

The 3 most entertaining movies, among others:

  1. Now you see me
  2. Zootropolis
  3. Kubo and the two strings

The things I have learned most notably this year are somewhat personal. Including the fact that I am, actually, boring. But also likeable. And that things are going to be ok.

Anyway. Off I go to drink my loneliness away. Happy New Year.

Photos of the day

FUJI3434.jpg
Ryo Mukae

Videos of the day

Leave a Reply

