Blogmas day 23: Favourite Christmas Songs

They’re actually german Christmas songs that bring up the most memories. These are the ones I grew up with, singing them at school. At home, I most likely picked up on British Christmas songs, but they never stuck in my head as much as these ones.

Among some of them is O Tannenbaum; Schneeflöckchen, Weißröckchen and In der Weihnachtsbäckerei

The English translation is:

In The Christmas Bakery

In the Christmas Bakery
Are many1 yummy things
From flour to milk
Make one false move
And a great mess there will be!
In the Christmas Bakery
In the Christmas Bakery.
What happened to the recipe
Of those cookies we really love?
Was it…
Kidnapped?
Well, we’ve gotta go get it
Simply bake it by ear
Fire up the oven
Fast!
In the Christmas Bakery
Are many yummy things
From flour to milk
Make one false move
And a great mess there will be!
In the Christmas Bakery
In the Christmas Bakery.
No need for chocolate,
Sugar, honey, or candied fruits
A little bit of cinnamon?
Of course!
Mix the butter, flour, and milk together
And while you’re at it, give it a taste
And now comes the egg
All done!
In the Christmas Bakery
Are many yummy things
From flour to milk
Make one false move
And a great mess there will be!
In the Christmas Bakery
In the Christmas Bakery.
Please stand aside,
I need some room to knead
Did you stick your finger in there?
You pig!
All the cookies we’ve forked
Are now on the cookie sheet,
We wait anxiously
Burnt!
In the Christmas Bakery
Are many yummy things
From flour to milk
Make one false move
And a great mess there will be!
In the Christmas Bakery
In the Christmas Bakery.

(Source: x)

These are pretty much the songs I grew up with, purely because of my friends and school. We never really sang songs at home so.

I just remembered that I haven’t baked a single thing for christmas? Like. I know its a thing other people do, bake christmas cookies or something, but. I literally just forgot that its christmas eve tomorrow? I listen to christmas music, watch movies and stuff, but for some reason, I feel really disassociated from feeling christmassy.

Usually, on Christmas Eve, I get to open a gift or two, and then leave the rest till Christmas Day. In Germany, it is common for all the gifts to be opened Christmas Eve. So we somewhat do both. Apparently, the British Royal Family does this, too? It kind of helps to deal with the excitement, but I also have to pass 90% of the day, trying not to think about it. I might be un-christmassy now but tomorrow morning I will most likely turn into a 5 year old child because there are things under the tree that feel like things I do not remember putting on my list so I really, REALLY wanna know what they are? But I also wanna wait to open them on Christmas Day, because of the excitement and everything? But that also means I have to entertain myself for all day tomorrow.

So many buts. Hopefully, my friend, who is currently in Sweden, will share some swedish christmas songs. Tomorrow, I need to watch all the movies I wanna watch before Christmas passes. Christmas movies, I had listed here, in a post from last year. I definitely need to watch Home Alone, and I really feel like I need to rewatch Spider Man (with Tobey Maguire)

Photos of the day

IMG_7179
Ciaran Rhys
Going uphill in Rye
Ian Flinders
Videos of the Day
Leave a Reply

