The Ultimate Book Tag

I got the questions from here, who got them from here, who ultimately, apparently got them from Megan. Books, books and more books!

1) Do you get sick while reading in the car?
– Yes, I do. I can’t even look at my phone some times, it really annoys me.

2)) Which Author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?
– I would have to answer with J.R.R Tolkien. I find his writing style difficult to get through and not like any other author I have yet read.

3) Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 Points to defend your answer.
– I love the Harry Potter series. It is the series that got me into reading, it lifts me up when I am sad and it was a huge part of my life when I grew up.

4) Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it, besides books?
– As in backpacks? (Guys, I grew up in Germany. I’m googling this.) Yes, I carry a backpack to Uni, and have hence all the tools in there I need to survive. Food, stationary, some water, my wallet, that kind of stuff.

5) Do you smell your books?
– Sometimes I do, if they look really old or really shiny and new.

6) Books with or without little illustrations?
– I love little illustrations, so books with them!

7) What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?
– I can’t really think of a book…

8) Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood?
– I’m not sure if it’s funny, but people used to call me Hermione when I was younger, because I always walked around with a book in my hands. The other story related to books didn’t happen when I was a child. I sometimes yell (or whisper) FACEBOOK and tap people with the book I am holding…

9) What is the thinnest book on your shelf?
– The thinnest book on my shelf is Fliegender Stern by Ursula Woelfel I believe, with a cute 115 pages.

10) What is the thickest book on your shelf?
The thickest, I thought would be Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling with 766 pages. But I thought wrong. The thickest Book I have is Eldest by Paolo Nutini with 999 pages.

11) Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?
– I try myself at poetry and I would like to write a book. I would love to be an author in the future.

12) When did you get into reading?
– My mum always tried to get me into reading, but I onnly really started reating when I was about  12 years old. That’s about the time I got into Harry Potter, which was the series which really got me into reading.

13) What is your favourite classic book?
– I haven’t read many classic books, but I have read The picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. I quite enjoyed it.

14) In school was your best subject Language Arts/ English?
– This seems to be quite a leading question. Growing up in Germany, I was quite good in English. It wasn’t until I moved to England that I really got interested in studying English language. Now, I study English Language and Linguistics.

15) If you were given a book as a present that you have read before and hated, what would you do?
– Depending on the friend, I would either lie or tell the truth and hope they still have the receipt so we can go and swap it or so they can at least get the money back for it.

16) What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?
– I don’t know if it is lesser known, but I quite enjoyed it whilst I read it. Unfortunately I have forgotten the name and I can’t find it anywhere.

17) What is a bad habit you always do while blogging?
I’m usually really unstructured, running around trying to get photos, losing my train of thought and then I end up talking a load of rubbish and not posting anything. I usually blame my ADD/ADHD, and the fact that I go to University and have little time to focus on blogging as well…

18) What is your favourite word?
– I have been dreading to answer this question since I started my English Language and Linguistics course. Today, my favourite word is “alas”. “Ridiculous” amuses me so much, I can’t say it or write it without ending up smiling, even in a really serious situation.

19) Are you a nerd, a dork or a dweeb?
– I guess I’m kind of a nerd.

20) Vampires or Fairies? Why?
– Fairies have always fascinated me more than Vampires. I’m not sure why, I’ve always liked Fairies. I blame the movie The magical Legend of Leprechauns, which I remember watching when I was really, really young and it’s kind of engrained in me now.

21) Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?
– Again, shapeshifters would fascinate me more than angels. I can’t pin point my finger on why exactly…

22) Spirits or Werewolves? Why?
– Both seem interesting. I’m more inclined to choose Werewolves.

23) Zombies or Vampires?
– In this case I would choose Vampires. Zombies are weird. At least Vampires only want my blood, not my brains.

24) Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?
– Forbidden Love, if I had to choose. Platonic friendships are thing though, too.

25) Romance books or Action packed books with a few love scenes mixed in?
– Anything BUT romance novels. Action packed books with a hint of love seems  like a good option.

 

I am going to add some suggestions to this post, just because it feels like a nice ending and it’s too short to make a whole post out of it.

I read the first book in the series of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flammel: The Alchemyst, which took surprisingly forever. I am considering finishing it at some point. Also, while I’m here, I want to suggest Vampirates, with Demons of the Ocean being the first in the series. I need to reread it urgently. I loved the Vampirates when I first read it.

~ Ciaran ~

One thought on “The Ultimate Book Tag

Leave a Reply

