Preparations for Vietnam

Considering how prepared I was for Thailand, I haven’t really prepared myself hugely for this family vacation.

I look forward to Vietnamese food, so we visited Pho Restaurant in Brighton, which serves traditional Vietnamese food. It was very lovely and I definitely look forward to trying out more in Vietnam.
Out of experience, the Asian food I have eaten in Europe is nothing compared to the actual food in Asia. My favourite dishes are those cooked in Malaysia (all of the dishes I’ve eaten there have been delicious and there are SO MANY). For example a version of the Malay Laksa (I’m not sure from which region it is) and a Lemon Chicken dish. My favourite Thai dish was the Massaman Curry.

Otherwise, I checked up on the currency, the Vietnamese Dong. I checked Lonely Planet. I also had a look at the language, not just because I wanted to see what phrases and words such as “yes”, “no”, “thank you” and “please” meant, looked like and sounded like, but also to see how it varied to other languages I have seen. So I did in fact want to see how it looked and sounded like, from the view of a curious linguist.

Furthermore, I pretty much briefly skimmed through other links on Vietnam, but only briefly. As I said, I hadn’t prepared myself for the trip to Vietnam, I only just realised how long we’re flying and we’ve been planning this for quite a few months now. A lovely summery is given by the BBC Vietnam Country File which also links to a timeline about the history of Vietnam.

Sometimes, I can be quite observant and I notice small little things. I love to travel for this reason. To observe and learn and experience.
Since my interest in Buddhism has immensely grown in the past year, I am also hugely fond of experiencing Vietnam on a spiritual level. This, however, might be a bit more difficult travelling with a family who is not so interested in spirituality. I am not going to give up though. I am a little worried about how religious Vietnam is, only because of who I am -bi and trans. It’ll be interesting.

I cannot wait to observe small parts of Vietnam. Things I would love to observe are how they deal with tourists, such as my family and myself and towards each other, etc. I don’t want to presume anything. I am genuinely travelling there with an open mind.

The most I have done in preparation for Vietnam is packing my suitcase, letting every one know I’m flying, sort out my medication and mentally prepare myself for a long journey. That is about it. I just rushed to scribble down some facts about our flights and the addresses of my friends in the travel journal I also used for Thailand (it was half empty).
I don’t even know why I feel stressed. Probably because everybody else is stressed and I’ve got University in between and assignments and essays due when I am back and mainly because I am just not prepared for holiday.

Anyway. Soon I’ll be relaxing by a pool, so, yay.

I’m writing this on Tuesday and we don’t actually travel to Vietnam on Thursday so I don’t know if and when I’ll update ya’ll on the actual flight, which is pretty much the boring part, even though I am trying to write short stories involving airports and air planes. I hate the actual flying, especially because its around 12 hours… UGH

My point is, I’ll most likely post this on Thursday. The reason why it hasn’t got anything in it about flights, etc, is because I planned ahead.

Packing wise, I find it incredibly easy to pack. I know what I love to wear, what I find comfortable when it is warm and I know not to pack too many things. So packing is very easy for me. I hate packing when I come back. Even if I don’t buy a lot there, I have incredibly huge difficulties to fit everything into my bag. My hand luggage is another story. What bag, diary, Ipad, something to write on, pens, something to read, kindle, chargers, Nintendo 3DS. And my DSLR in its own bag. It doesn’t sound a lot but it looks a lot, especially this year. But it all fits, and I think I can manage carrying it from pillar to post. Most of the time we’ll be sitting anyway…

Kind (and by now probably disgruntled hugs),

Ciarán

Featured Image: The Vietnamese Flag; Source (x)

Leave a Reply

