“Oh my, you’ve changed!”

So I spent my weekend, the days Friday, Saturday and Sunday up near Telford and in Cannock, which are both towns around Birmingham as far as I know, which is quite a journey up north from where I live. The reason I spent over four hours getting there and over five hours travelling back was because a childhood friend of mine, Ryan, had married his beloved Amber in Las Vegas and was back in England to celebrate their wedding with those who didn’t make it to America. I grew up with Ryan and his brother Connor (who, unfortunately, couldn’t make it) but our paths separated when he and his family moved away. Travelling up north, my mum and I got to meet her friends again, Ryan’s mum Claire, and another friend, Kate (or Clate as mum as nicknamed them).

I felt like they were my friends as well, and immediately felt at home around Clate. It was great seeing both Clate and Ryan again. I always remember Ryan and Connor making me laugh and fighting over who could make me laugh more. I doubt they’re reading this, but I do wish Ryan and Amber all the best.

At the Celebration, there were obviously many more faces, Audrey for one, Amber’s daughter. A few others apparantly knew me, but I have no recollection of their faces (Sorry?). They were very kind and funny however and I could see why my mum and Claire were friends with them. As soon as we got to the Celebration (or Party… I’m gonna stick with Celebration because it sounds kinda awesome) said people came up to me and said something along the lines of “Oh, yeah, I remember you! You were about this tiny the last time I saw you!” How do you politely tell a person, that you have absolutely no idea who they are? I couldn’t do anything else but smile at them. The only people I recognised were Claire and her husband and kids, Amber and Audrey (because of Facebook photos) Kate and my mum (obviously).

Anyhow. Kate often noted on Friday, the day before the Celebration, how I’ve changed. I’m not as shy and quiet as I used to be. I think I am still shy and quiet, but I really must’ve changed quite a bit. I felt comfortable around mostly strangers, I wasn’t anxious about talking to these people and actually really enjoyed it. I didn’t keep my thoughts to myself, especially complements. And that was all before I got tipsy on Cider.

Since moving to England I have noticed a few things about myself.

  1. I’m a lot more independent, especially since I started University.
  2. I now know what I like to read more so than when I lived in Germany.
  3. I’m not as anxious about going to the cinema on my own or travelling on my own in general.
  4. I’m not as anxious about approaching people to ask for help.
  5. I can deal with my anxiety a lot better than before.
  6. I’m more aware of who I am and where I want to go with my life.
  7. I can express myself better about me myself and my future plans.
  8. I guess I’ve grown a lot as a creative little cookie.

That’s all I can think of at the moment. Most of it has dramatically changed mainly since I’ve started University and since having therapy for my Anxiety. Apart from me growing up and my physical appearance changing, which somehow surprised the few people who knew me at the age of about six, these are the things that I’ve noticed have changed since leaving Germany and starting University.

Leave a Reply

